The Best of Summer Beauty

Ashley Arts
6 min readJun 29, 2023

--

As we walk into each season, let's welcome change and discover the new summer essentials. I have been making a point to practice more self-care this year across all avenues.

I have tried so many new beauty and skincare products and I am here to share my favorites. If there’s anything I’ve learned, it’s that investing in yourself is key. I also found that most of my investments were in beauty, skincare, and time. This is why I love IPSY. I have been able to try all sorts of products monthly without even having to overthink what it is I needed. There also are a few things I picked up that I was eyeing and it’s been a match made in heaven.

First things first, you can’t have self-care without a skincare routine. I started using Drunk Elephant’s F-Balm Electrolyte Waterfacial Masque hydrant which is a cooling overnight mask that made easing into skincare easy. You simply apply it and you’ll wake up with plump rejuvenated, and radiant skin.

Shop on Amazon, Shop on IPSY

Another mask I have been loving is Earth Harbor’s Glow Juice Refining Enzyme Mask. This has been my absolute favorite mask because it truly feels like paradise. The consistency is instantaneously hydrating, cooling, and it soaks into my skin. The ingredients are a dream including Red Seaweed, Fruit Enzymes, White Willow Bark, and Aloe Leaf Juice and it is all-natural. If you want a sustainable, plant-based, 100% Non-GMO, zero-waste mask I definitely recommend this Glow Juice AHA/ BHA gel mask. You leave it on for 3 minutes, rinse, and it’s an instant refresh. I also enjoy using a few drops of Ferver’s Fermented Collagen Serum for an extra boost before bed.

Shop on Amazon, Shop on IPSY

I love playing with color and the summer season calls for summer shades. My favorite colorful palette right now is the Beachside Babe Palette by Iconic London. It is full of highly pigmented, shimmery shadows that are perfect for any Wes Anderson-esque look.

Shop on IPSY

If you are looking for a neutral quad palette, I love the Color Boss Squad Eyeshadow Multi-Dimensional pallete by Il Makiage. I have been using the Workoholic quad and the colors blend like a dream. The packaging feels very luxurious with a sleek compact and magnetic closure. There’s absolutely no fallout, it has a rich and velvety texture and each quad is hand-picked from bestselling Il Makiage Color Boss eyeshadows.

Shop on IPSY

My favorite mascara right now is the MAC Magic Extension 5MM Fibre Mascara. It’s enriched with Crystal Elixir Powder for intense black color and the precise brush gives my lashes an extravagant, full look.

Shop on Amazon, Shop on IPSY

To top off the drama, I adore the Killer Liner 36-Hour Waterproof Gel Eyeliner Pencil by Too Faced. This vegan formula is ultra creamy and doesn’t move throughout the day which is perfect for the summer heat. Also, who doesn’t love cute, pink packaging?

Shop on Amazon, Shop on IPSY

One of my favorite parts of my routine is a good lip color. My personal favorites right now are by MAC, Tarte, and Fenty Beauty. We all know MAC is the MVP when it comes to color range and finding the right color with the perfect consistency.

Shop on Ulta

My go-to lip combo is my new signature pink. I tell you this is heavenly. I pair a nude pink MAC lipstick in the shade Cherish with the viral Tarte Maracuja Juicy Lip Plumping Gloss on top. Chef’s kiss. It is the perfect pink and will make you look like a princess.

Shop on Sephora

My signature red is the MAC Powder Kiss Liquid Lipcolour in the shade M.A.C Smash which is a velvety, true red color, and gives a whipped mousse-like texture. For my matte mauve lovers, I found a rosy mauve nude lipstick that is very much a “my lips but better shade.” IPSY has the option to try full-size products like the Fenty Beauty Stunna Lip Paint Longwear Fluid Lip Color in the shade Uncuffed. It’s locked in and loaded with high-impact pigment. It’s also very lightweight so you forget you’re wearing anything.

Shop on Nordstrom
Shop on Ulta

Eyes, lips, now, let’s talk face. I had taken a break from foundation in exchange for a touch of concealer. But with more time in the sun, it was time for a change. I opted for the Rare Beauty Positive Light Tinted Moisturizer with SPF 20 and I’m all in. It’s lightweight and easy to blend and blur my skin. It also has a very soft, radiant glowy finish with very nice coverage. It’s an instantaneous difference and it’s nice to know it will protect my skin.

Shop on Sephora

Another sunscreen I like I received in my IPSY and it is the Daily Dose Hydra-Ceramide Boost + SPF 40 Oil by SuperGoop. It has a trifecta of skin-loving ingredients like hyaluronic acid, ceramides, and squalane to help replenish the skin barrier.

For blush, I have been loving this perfectly pink, Half Baked Double Dripped color duo. The blush is buttery soft and gives a natural, silky touch of pink. The blush is primer-infused and the highlighter is very luminous and flattering.

Shop on IPSY

Just like that, you’ve got a full look of summer staples.

You can end the day immersing yourself in skincare. I use JLo Beauty’s That Hit Single Gel Cleanser to keep my skin clear and radiant. The ingredients are amazing and make my skin feel baby-soft. Glycolipids help clear out pore-clogging residues. It also is infused with JLo Beauty Olive Complex, coconut fruit, rice bran, and Japanese knotweed root extracts.

Shop on Sephora, Shop on IPSY

After cleansing, I apply That JLo Glow Serum which is a rich gel serum that gives you that superstar glow. It’s the perfect blend of squalane, Niacinamide, peptides, and is all packed into the most BEAUTIFUL bottle.

Shop on Sephora, Shop on IPSY

I hope you enjoyed learning more about my favorite summer essentials to make you feel radiant, empowered, and practice more self-love this year. Thank you for reading. You can shop most of the products I mentioned from IPSY here. Follow my journey on YouTube.

Good luck. See you soon.

#hotgirlsummer #ipsy #makeup #skincare #beauty #boxycharm #selfcare

--

--

Ashley Arts

Design Your Mind 🤍 I am an artist with a love for beauty, fashion, and design.